Out of Stock
Various - Pacific Breeze 2

Various – Pacific Breeze 2: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1972-1986 (Violet Sky Color Wax)


Out of stock

  • Follow up to LITA’s critically acclaimed and best selling 2019 release Pacific Breeze: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1976-1986
  • New artwork by renowned illustrator Hiroshi Nagai
  • 2xLP housed in a deluxe wide spine jacket
  • Colour vinyl record
  • Remastered audio
  • Extensive artist bios in oversized fold-out booklet

When Light In The Attic released Pacific Breeze: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1976-1986 in 2019, it was the first collection of its kind to be released outside Japan. It proved to be just what music fans had been waiting for—a compilation of sought-after tracks that had been nearly impossible to obtain unless you were well-connected with dealers and collectors, or traveled regularly to the countless record stores in Japan. Pacific Breeze included Minako Yoshida, Taeko Ohnuki, Hiroshi Sato and Haruomi Hosono among other key players of ‘70s-’80s Japanese City Pop, the nebulous genre that encompassed an “amalgam of AOR, R&B, jazz fusion, funk, boogie and disco, all a touch dizzy with tropical euphoria,” as we described it the first time around.

With Pacific Breeze 2: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1972-1986 we dig deeper into those sounds of bubble-era Japan. From the proto-City Pop funk of Bread & Butter and Eiichi Ohtaki to the crate-digger favorites Eri Ohno and Piper, the latest entry in Light In The Attic’s Japan Archival Series brings another set of sought-after tunes, most of which have never before been available outside of Japan. Tomoko Aran and Anri, also included in this compilation, are just a few of the artists who have gained popularity in recent years thanks to Vaporwave, the meme-genre that heavily samples Japanese City Pop to create its particular aesthetic.

Pacific Breeze 2 once again feature the artwork of renowned Tokyo-based illustrator Hiroshi Nagai, whose iconic images of resort living have become synonymous with City Pop. Nagai’s urban tropical imagery is a perfect match for the expertly curated tunes, evoking a certain sense of nostalgia for the leisure lifestyles of ‘70s-’80s Tokyo, while simultaneously being perfectly in tune with the current zeitgeist.

SKU: 826853217910.
Category: , , , , , .

Product Details:




A1 –Bread & Butter Pink Shadow
A2 –Eiichi Ohtaki Yubikiri
A3 –Kimiko Kasai Vibration (Love Celebration)
A4 –The Mystery Kindaichi Band Kindaichi Kosuke No Theme
B1 –Tetsuji Hayashi Hidari Mune No Seiza
B2 –Anri Last Summer Whisper
B3 –Momoko Kikuchi Blind Curve
B4 –Tomoko Aran I’m In Love
C1 –Yu Imai Kindaichi Kosuke Nishi E Iku
C2 –Sadistics Tokyo Taste
C3 –Piper Hot Sand
C4 –Junko Ohashi & Minoya Central Station Rainy Saturday & Coffee Break
D1 –Eri Ohno Skyfire
D2 –Yumi Murata Kanpoo
D3 –Kyoko Furuya Harumifutou
D4 –Yuji Toriyama Bay/Sky Provincetown 1977

0 items