Sarah Vaughan - In the Land of Hi-Fi

Sarah Vaughan – In the Land of Hi-Fi


1 in stock (backorders allowed)

Expected Release Date: 3 Mar, 2018

“In the Land of Hi-Fi” is one of Sarah’s best albums. The songs are terrific, the arrangements dynamic, the
orchestra a blast, the recording quality first-rate. Accompanied by an all-star orchestra arranged by Ernie
Wilkins and featuring J.J. Johnson on trombone, Roy Haynes on drums and altoist Cannonball Adderley
(who was near the beginning of his career), the great singer is in superior form during these performances,
particularly on “Soon,” “Cherokee,” “I’ll Never Smile Again,” and “An Occasional Man.” She gives brassy,
Sassy-fied treatments to be-bop jazz standards such as “How High the Moon” and “Cherokee”.

SKU: 8719039003310.
Category: , , , . Tags: .

Product Details:


This reissue adds four bonus tracks with the Hugo Peretti Orchestra. All tracks were recorded in New York in 1955.


Side A:
1. Over The Rainbow
2. Soon
3. Cherokee
4. I’ll Never Smile Again
5. Don’t Be On The Outside
6. How High The Moon
7. It Shouldn’t Happen To A Dream
8. Sometimes I’m Happy

Side B:
1. Maybe
2. An Occasional Man
3. Why Can’t I
4. Oh My

Bonus Tracks
5. Whatever Lola Wants
6. Never
7. The Other Woman
8. Experience Unnecessary

0 items